111 Lib Dem Parliamentary candidates back Tim Farron

The Guardian reports:

More than 100 Liberal Democrat parliamentary candidates have signed a letter to the Guardian backing Tim Farron’s bid to succeed Nick Clegg as the partys leader.

One hundred and eleven Lib Dems who to stood for parliament on 7 May have put their names to the letter, which argues that the MP for Westmorland and Lonsdale is the best candidate to rebuild the party.

Amongst the 111 are three former MPs: Duncan Hames, Jo Swinson and John Leech.

Not all of the signatories are candidates who stood in 2015, by the way. I’ve not checked the full list but one name on it is Dan Roper who is on the approved list and stood in 2010.

Here is the full letter and list of signatories:

As Liberal Democrat candidates in the general election, we share the view that it will be a huge task for the party to rebuild public support.

There are positive signs. Our 13,000 new members in only one week; the resilience we hear from those who helped and supported us; and above all, our determination not to give up.

In government we achieved plenty, but at huge political cost to our party. The results of the election show the need for a liberal voice. That need has never been stronger: to stand up for the liberal values that our country holds dear – fairness, respect, inclusion and opportunity for all.

Only the Liberal Democrats can provide that voice, but to do so effectively we need as our next leader someone who is not only a committed liberal, but who is also an outstanding campaigner and an inspirational leader, who will ensure the liberal case is heard loud and clear. Somebody who reconnects the Liberal Democrats with the public.

We believe the person who best fits that description as we start the task of rebuilding our party is Tim Farron.

Lizzie Adams Stratford-on-Avon
Robert Adamson East Yorkshire
Paul Ankers Bury South
Jon Ball Ealing Central & Acton
Charlotte Barnes Ludlow
Ryan Bate Halton
Mike Beckett Scarborough & Whitby
Jacqueline Bell Skipton & Ripon
Lorraine Birchall Carlisle
James Blanchard York Outer
Kelly-Marie Blundell Guildford
Steve Bradley Bath
Jane Brophy Altincham & Sale
Cahal Burke Colne Valley
Theo Butt Philip Bridgwater & West Somerset
Carl Cashman Knowsley
Victor Chamberlain Wythenshawe & Sale East
Paul Childs Liverpool Wavertree
Rich Clare Ilford North
Gill Cole-Hamilton Dunfermline & West Fife
Daniel Coleman Dundee West
Neil Christian Macclesfield
Callum Delhoy Daventry
Josh Dixon Ruislip, Northwood & Pinner
Charles Dundas Livingston
Gareth Epps Keighley
David Evans Banff & Buchan
Dan Farthing-Sykes Edinburgh South-West
Emma Farthing-Sykes Linlithgow & Falkirk East
Ben Fearn Derbyshire Dales
Helen Flynn Harrogate & Knaresborough
Pete Flynn Stalybridge & Hyde
Stephen Glenn Sedgfield
Ed Goncalves Rugby
David Goodall Isle of Wight
Gitanjali Gordon South Shields
Michael Green Hertford & Stortford
Andy Hallett Putney
Paul Halliday Newport East
Duncan Hames Chippenham
Tom Hancock Wansbeck
Garth Harkness Oldham West & Royton
John Harris Richmond
Daniel Hawthorne Stockport
Carly Hicks Ashton-under-Lyne
Tony Hill Maidenhead
Wera Hobhouse North East Somerset
John Howson Banbury
Christine Jardine Gordon
Lorraine Johnson South Derbyshire
Clive Jones Wokingham
Ros Kayes West Dorset
Lauren Keith Brent Central
Andy Kelly Rochdale
Richard Kilpatrick Middlesbrough
Ross Laird Motherwell & Wishaw
John Lawson Batley & Spen
John Leech Manchester Withington
Gordon Lishman Blackburn
Jane-Ann Liston Glenrothes
Nick Love York Central
Anita Lower Newcastle North
Richard Marbrow Oldham East & Saddleworth
Cllr Eileen McCartin Paisley & Renfrewshire South
Paul McGarry East Kilbride, Strathaven & Lesmahagow
Robin McGhee Kensington
Chris McGlynn Kettering
Robin Meltzer Richmond Park
Hugo Mieville North Dorset
Galen Milne Falkirk
Aisha Mir Midlothian
Pat Moloney Liverpool Walton
Michael Mullaney Bosworth
Ben Nicholls Romsey & Southampton North
Meri O’Connell Reading West
Zoe O’Connell Maldon
Sarah Osborne Crawley
Joe Otten Sheffield Central
Turhan Ozen Tottenham
Clive Peaple Barrow & Furness
Jackie Pearcey Ribble Valley
Nick Perry Hastings & Rye
Jackie Porter Winchester
Nigel Quinton South West Hertfordshire
Peter Reisdorf Wirral West
Bart Ricketts Bromsgrove
David Ridgway Barnsley Central
Simon Rix Truro & Falmouth
Lesley Rollings Gainsborough
Dan Roper Broadland
Selwyn Runnett Carmarthen West & South Pembrokeshire
James Sandbach Suffolk Coastal
Darren Sanders Portsmouth North
Millicent Scott Hammersmith
Matthew Severn Morecambe & Lunesdale
Mike Sheehan Gower
Imogen Shepherd DuBey New Forest West
Robbie Simpson Coatbridge, Chryston & Bellshill
Vikki Slade Mid Dorset & North Poole
Cath Smith Warley
Patrick Smith Bracknell
Ettie Spencer East Lothian
Iliyan Stefanov Ochil & South Perthshire
Jo Swinson East Dunbartonshire
Wendy Taylor Newcastle East
Freddie van Mierlo Fylde
Martin Veart Edinburgh North & Leith
David Watts Boston & Skegness
Matthew Winnington Fareham
Mark Wright Bristol South
Stefan Zeljko Warrington North

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

All comments and data you submit with them will be handled in line with the privacy and moderation policies.