Lib Dem shortlist for London Mayor and GLA list published

London Liberal Democrats earlier today published the official shortlists of those seeking to be the party’s candidate for London Mayor or a list candidate for the London Assembly in the 2020 elections.

Party members across London will be balloted to make the final pick – one Mayor candidate and eleven list candidates (ordered from 1 to 11, with the higher a candidate is, the better their odds of being elected in the proportional representation system used for electing the list). Ballot papers will be sent out via email or the post, which is a good prompt to make sure the party has a working email address for you if you’re a member.

Lib Dem shortlist for London Mayor

Siobhan Benita
Rob Blackie
Dinesh Dhamija
Lucy Salek

London Assembly List

Azi Ahmed
Reetendra Banerji
Rob Blackie
Hina Bokhari
Michael Bukola
Adetokunbo Fatukasi
Charley Hasted
Adrian Hyyrylainen-Trett
Hussain Khan
Chris Maines
Ben Mathis
Joyce Onstad
Caroline Pidgeon
Lucy Salek
Irina von Wiese

It’s an impressively diverse list of names put forward, looking much more like London than the party has always managed in the past. Regional candidates chair Brian Orrell commented in the email to party members about the list:

This is the most diverse range of candidates our party has ever fielded for the London Mayor and GLA. Over 50% of the candidates for both Mayor and GLA List are BAME, 50% of the Mayoral candidates are women and 45% of the GLA List are women and 12.5% are LGBT.

Two hustings are being held:

  • London Mayor: Wednesday 31st October from 6.30pm to 9pm, Hamilton House, Mabledon Place, Kings Cross, London WC1H 9BJ
  • GLA List: Thursday 8 November from 6.30pm, National Liberal Club (David Lloyd George Room), Whitehall Place, London, SW1A 2HE

The result will be announced at the London Region Conference on November 24.

Keep up with news about Lib Dem selections

If you’d like to be notified by email when further posts about Liberal Democrat selections appear on this blog, just sign up here. (Note: if you’re already signed up for a daily email alert with all my new blog posts, then there’s no need to sign up for these alerts too as the stories will also be in the full daily digest.)

    If you submit this form, your data will be used in line with the privacy policy here to update you on the topic(s) selected. This may including using this data to contact you via a variety of digital channels.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

All comments and data you submit with them will be handled in line with the privacy and moderation policies.