Lib Dems announce results for London Assembly list selection

Alongside the news of Siobhan Benita’s selection as the party’s candidate for Mayor of London, the Liberal Democrats have published the results of the selection of prospective candidates for the London-wide top-up list.

Here is the ordered list:

  1. Caroline Pidgeon (existing Assembly member)
  2. Hina Bokhari
  3. Lucy Salek
  4. Chris Maines
  5. Joyce Onstad
  6. Rob Blackie
  7. Irina von Wiese
  8. Hussain Khan
  9. Ben Mathis
  10. Michael Bukola
  11. Adrian Hyyrylainen-Trett

Here are the first preferences for the candidates (with full voting analysis on the party website):

Lib Dem London Assembly list selection - voting figures

Note: the election was carried out by STV, using a series of counts for a diminishing number of places to order the list within the selected candidates. The first preferences listed here therefore did not determine the order of the list, as vote transfers also came into play along with the party’s rules on diversity. 

Rob Blackie’s comment on the result is worth quoting, and kudos to Rob for saying this:

I got the 2nd highest number of 1st preference votes for the London Assembly, but after transfers (ie people’s second preferences) and adjustments to make sure we have a list that reflects London’s diversity, I was placed sixth.

I’ve campaigned for a more diverse political system for 20 years – so I’m delighted that these rules apply (even to me!) and that we have our most diverse list of candidates ever.

UPDATE: The Lib Dem candidate list has since been updated.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

All comments and data you submit with them will be handled in line with the privacy and moderation policies.