The largest Lib Dem council group in the country

Over the last couple of weeks, new Liberal Democrat council leaders have been taking up their posts all across the country, with the number of Lib Dem majority councils now back to where it was before the 2010 coalition.

I’ve covered many of these on social media, but in particular it’s worth highlighting the two new unitary authorities of Westmorland & Furness and Somerset.

First Lib Dem council leader in Wales since 2012 on the way

The Liberal Democrats made 10 net gains in Powys in the May local elections, taking the group from 14 to 24. more

The Conservative Party’s enthusiasm for large new unitary councils has always seemed to be fuelled in part by a political calculation – that larger councils, with larger wards and less frequent elections will benefit them compared to parties such as the Lib Dems. However, in both north west and south west England this May, that proved to be spectacularly wrong.

Jonathan Brook has been elected the new leader for Westmorland & Furness:

In Somerset it’s Bill Revans, who now heads up the largest Liberal Democrat group in the country:

Somerset Council Liberal Democrat group after May 2022 elections

Congratulations and good luck to both teams, and the many others around the country also now getting to grips with having more power to improve people’s lives. That, in the end, is the point of all those bar charts.

Sign up to get the latest news and analysis

"*" indicates required fields

What would you like to receive?*
If you submit this form, your data will be used in line with the privacy policy here to update you on the topic(s) selected. This may including using this data to contact you via a variety of digital channels.
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

3 responses to “The largest Lib Dem council group in the country”

  1. I note that Wokingham Borough Council now has Lib_Dem leadership in partnership with Labour and independent councillors. Congratulations to Clive Jones (Leader) and Stephen Conway (Deputy Leader).

    Theresa May represents the Maidenhead constituency but lives in Wokingham Borough (her constuency extends across the local authority boundary to Sonning). Interesting times!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

All comments and data you submit with them will be handled in line with the privacy and moderation policies.