Victory in Bedford and second place in Leicester South

In amongst all the bad results, it’s understandable that news from two of the best candidates I’ve had the pleasure of working with over the years has been mostly overlooked. But it’s worth highlighting that Dave Hodgson won re-election as Mayor in Bedford, whilst Zuffar Haq held on to second place in Leicester South.

Congratulations to them both and to their teams.

Here are the result details:

Leicester South
Jonathan Ashworth (Lab)  19,771 (57.8%, +12.2)
Zuffar Haq (LibDem) 7,693 (22.5%, -4.4)
Jane Hunt (Con) 5,169 (15.1%, -6.3)
Abhijit Pandya (UKIP) 994 (2.9%, +1.4)
Howling Laud Hope (Monster Raving Loony) 553 (1.6%, n/a)

Bedford Mayor
First round
Dave Hodgson (Lib Dem) 19,966 (37.7%, +10.9 on by-election in which he was elected)
John Guthrie (Con) 17,501 (33.0%, +7.1)
Michelle Harris (Lab) 11,197 (21.1%,+11.2)
Tony Hare (Ind) 3,113 (5.9%, -6.4)
Greg Paszynski (Green) 1,211 (2.3%, -1.1)

Second round
Dave Hodgson (Lib Dem) 24,921 (56%)
John Guthrie (Con) 19,325 (44%)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

All comments and data you submit with them will be handled in line with the privacy and moderation policies.