Political

Election timetable: May 2013 local elections

Tuesday, 26 March
Last day for publication of notice of election

Friday, 5 April
Last day for submission of nomination papers (noon)

Tuesday, 9 April
Publication of statement of people nominated (noon)

Wednesday, 10 April
Last day for withdrawal of candidates (noon)
Last day for appointment of election agents (noon)

Wednesday, 17 April
Last day to register to vote
Last day to apply for a new postal vote (5pm)
Last day to amend / cancel an existing postal or proxy vote arrangement (5pm)

Wednesday, 24 April
Last day to apply for a new proxy vote (5pm) – except for medical emergencies
Last day for publication of Notice of Poll

Thursday, 25 April
Last day for notification of appointment of polling and counting agents
Publication of notice of alterations to electoral register for use in this election

Friday, 26 April
First day on which electors can request replacements for lost postal votes

Thursday, 2 May
Polling Day: 7am – 10pm

Deadline for issuing replacement postal ballot papers (5pm)
Deadline for applying for a proxy vote on grounds of medical emergency (5pm)
Deadline for correcting electoral register due to clerical error or court appeal (9pm)

Thursday, 30 May
Last day for submission of election expense returns (parish and community elections)

Thursday, 6 June
Last day for submission of election expense returns (if declaration was before midnight) (other local elections)

Friday, 7 June
Last day for submission of election expense returns (if declaration was after midnight) (other local elections)

Thanks to the Electoral Commission from whom I’ve taken some of this information.

If youโ€™re looking for other coverage of election law matters, seeย the UKElectionLaw Twitter account or Election Law News Facebook page.

Advertisements

There are no comments

Share your views

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

All comments and data you submit with them will be handled in line with the privacy and moderation policies.