Read about the 2016 Scottish Parliament election, held on Thursday 5 May. The election saw the SNP, led by Nicola Sturgeon, lose its overall majority in the Scottish Parliament. But it remained the largest party (two seats short of a majority). The Liberal Democrats, led by Willie Rennie, won five seats, the same number as before.