John Major (Conservative Party) was Prime Minister 1990-1997, succeeding Margaret Thatcher before losing to Tony Blair in the 1997 general election.


How well do you know the British Prime Ministers?

A quick history quiz for the weekend: only five recent Prime Ministers have not subsequently taken a seat in the House of Lords. Who are the six? … Read the full post »


13th police force sends files on alleged Conservative law-breaking to the CPS

I previously noted the bad news for Conservative MPs in the Electoral Commission’s recent report which led to a record fine being levied in the party. That report clearly pointed towards numerous Conservative MPs having broken their constituency expense limits. Enforcing such constituency limits is essentially a matter for the police rather than the Electoral … Read the full post »