Read about the 2012 local elections held on 3 May 2012, the traditional first Thursday in May date for these contests. Ed Miliband’s Labour Party gained seats, whilst David Cameron’s Conservatives and Nick Clegg’s Liberal Democrats both lost seats.


Councillor fined for breaking election expense limit – but keeps his seat

The independent councillor was fined after submitting an election expense return for £2,066 despite the legal limit being £1,215.36. … Read the full post »