Read about former Liberal Democrat MP and government minister Simon Hughes.

First elected to Parliament in the Bermondsey Parliamentary by-election in 1982, boundary changes saw his seat become Southwark and Bermondsey, and then North Southwark and Bermondsey. He held the seat through these changes until being defeated in the 2015 general election.

Simon Hughes has served as both the President of the Liberal Democrats and as the party’s Deputy Leader. He has stood unsuccessfully to be both leader of the party and also to be Mayor of London.


Simon Hughes set to restand for Parliament

Simon Hughes, the very popular former Lib Dem MP, will be standing again for Bermondsey and Old Southwark in the event of an early general election. … Read the full post »