House of Lords reshuffle: Chris Rennard joins front-bench team

There’s been a small reshuffle of the Liberal Democrat team in the House of Lords. The most notable change is former Chief Executive Chris Rennard joining the front bench teams for Constitutional Affairs and for Communities & Local Government following his clearing over expense allegations.

Other changes included Sue Miller stepping down from Home Affairs, to be replaced by Sally Hamwee. Graham Tope takes over at Communities & Local Government.

The full Lords team is:


Lord McNally

Deputy Leader

Lord Dholakia

Lord Wallace of Saltaire

Business, Enterprise and Regulatory Reform

Lord Razzall
Lord Vallance of Tummel
Lord Sharman
Lord Cotter (Small Business)
Baroness Sharp of Guildford (Science and Technology)

Innovation, Universities and Skills

Baroness Garden
Lord Cotter (Skills)

Cabinet Office

Lord Maclennan of Rogart

Children, Schools and Families

Baroness Walmsley

Communities and Local Government

Lord Tope
Lord Rennard
Lord Dholakia (Communities)
Lord Greaves

Constitutional Affairs

Lord McNally
Lord Tyler
Lord Maclennan of Rogart
Lord Smith of Clifton
Lord Rennard

Culture, Media and Sport

Lord Clement-Jones
Baroness Bonham-Carter of Yarnbury
Lord Addington (Sport)
Lord Lee of Trafford (Tourism)


Lord Lee of Trafford
Lord Addington

Energy and Climate Change

Lord Teverson

Environment, Food and Rural Affairs

Lord Greaves
Lord Burnett
Lord Dykes (CAP Reform)

Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs

Lord Wallace of Saltaire
Baroness Falkner
Lord Dykes (Europe)
Lord Avebury (Africa)


Baroness Barker
Baroness Tonge
Lord Carlile of Berriew (Mental Health)

Home Office

Baroness Hamwee
Baroness Falkner
Baroness Harris of Richmond (Police)
Lord Avebury (Civil Liberties)

International Development

Baroness Northover
Lord Roberts of Llandudno


Lord Thomas of Gresford (Shadow Attorney General)
Lord Wallace of Tankerness

Northern Ireland

Lord Smith of Clifton
Baroness Harris of Richmond


Lord Wallace of Tankerness


Lord Bradshaw
Earl of Mar and Kellie


Lord Newby
Lord Oakeshott of Seagrove Bay


Lord Livsey of Talgarth
Lord Roberts of Llandudno

Women and Equality

Lord Lester of Herne Hill
Lord Wallace of Tankerness (Equality Bill)
Baroness Northover (Equality Bill)

Work and Pensions

Lord Oakeshott of Seagrove Bay
Baroness Thomas of Winchester
Lord Kirkwood of Kirkhope

Lords Whips

Chief Whip: Rt Hon Lord Shutt of Greetland
Deputy Chief Whip: Lord Addington
Whips: Lord Lee of Trafford, Baroness Garden of Frognal, Lord Roberts of Llandudno, Earl of Mar and Kellie