Read about the 2006 local government elections which were held on Thursday 4 May.

The contests included four directly elected Mayors, all the seats in the London borough councils, a third of the seats in the Mets and a third of the seats in some district and unitary councils. Several councils also elected half of their seats.

The Conservative Party, led by David Cameron, made large seat gains. This was at the expense of the Labour government, under Tony Blair. It lost seats heavily.


What do the academics say? Persuading someone to vote comes with a free bonus

If you persuade someone to go out and vote in one election, do you get a bonus benefit in that they are also then more likely to vote in future elections? … Read the full post »