Tim Farron reshuffles his front bench team: full details

The combined Liberal Democrat frontbench team spanning the House of Commons and Lords has been reshuffled a little by party leader Tim Farron.

The main change had already been announced – the return of Nick Clegg, covering Brexit, a role in which he is supported by Sarah Ludford in the Lords.

Other changes include Brian Paddick taking over from Alistair Carmichael as Shadow Home Secretary, with Alistair moving over to Shadow First Secretary of State. Don Foster comes in at Business, replacing Lorely Burt who moves to cover Equalities in place of Meral Ece. Cathy Bakewell takes over from Zahida Manzoor, who recently left the party, and Shas Sheehan takes over International Development from Lindsay Northover. Alison Suttie replaces John Alderdice at Northern Ireland, who has just taken up a different role for the party.

Here is the full front bench team line-up:

  • Tim Farron MP – Liberal Democrat Leader
  • Baroness Sal Brinton – Party President
  • Alistair Carmichael MP – Shadow First Secretary of State
  • Baroness Susan Kramer – Shadow Chancellor of the Exchequer
  • Tom Brake MP – Shadow Foreign Secretary, Shadow Leader of the House, Chief Whip
  • Lord Brian Paddick – Shadow Home Secretary
  • Nick Clegg MP – Shadow Brexit and International Trade Secretary
  • Baroness Judith Jolly – Shadow Defence Secretary
  • Norman Lamb MP – Shadow Health Secretary
  • Lord Don Foster – Shadow Business and Industrial Strategy Secretary
  • Baroness Lynne Featherstone – Shadow Energy Secretary
  • John Pugh MP – Shadow Education Secretary
  • Baroness Cathy Bakewell – Shadow Work and Pensions
  • Baroness Lorely Burt – Shadow Equalities Secretary
  • Lord Jonathan Marks – Shadow Justice Secretary
  • Baroness Kath Pinnock – Shadow Communities Secretary
  • Baroness Jenny Randerson – Shadow Transport Secretary
  • Baroness Jane Bonham-Carter – Shadow Culture Secretary
  • Lord Dick Newby – Leader of the House of Lords
  • Lord Ben Stoneham – Lords Chief Whip
  • Baroness Kate Parminter – Shadow Secretary of State for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs
  • Baroness Shas Sheehan – Shadow International Development Secretary
  • Mark Williams MP – Leader of the Liberal Democrats in Wales
  • Willie Rennie MSP – Leader of the Liberal Democrats in Scotland
  • Baroness Alison Suttie – Shadow Northern Ireland Secretary
  • Caroline Pidgeon GLAM – Shadow Minister for London
  • Catherine Bearder MEP – EU/ALDE Liaison
  • Baroness Sarah Ludford – Lords Shadow Brexit Minister

Others who attend the Shadow Cabinet are:

  • Baroness Lindsay Northover – Shadow Lords Minister for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs
  • Lord Jeremy Purvis – Shadow Lords Minister for International Trade
  • Baroness Joan Walmsley – Shadow Lords Minister for Health
  • Lord Mike Storey – Shadow Lords Minister for Education
  • Lord Malcolm Bruce – Shadow Lords Minister for Scotland
  • Baroness Chris Humphreys – Shadow Lords Minister for Wales

Finally (!), other party spokespeople in the announcement are:

  • Lord John Shipley – Shadow Minister for Housing
  • Lord Martin Thomas – Shadow Attorney General
  • Lord Paul Tyler – Shadow Minister for Political and Constitutional Reform
  • Lord William Wallace – Shadow Minister for the Cabinet Office


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

All comments and data you submit with them will be handled in line with the privacy and moderation policies.