Which (ex)MP is backing which candidate in the Lib Dem leadership race?

Embed from Getty Images

I make no comment about whether any of the names listed below are a negative rather than a positive for the person they’re backing…

Supporting Tim Farron

Alan Beith (1973-2015)
Annette Brooke (2001-15)
Alex Carlile (1983-1997)
Brian Cotter (1997-2005)
Duncan Hames (2010-15)
Martin Horwood (2005-15)
David Howarth (2005-10)
Simon Hughes (1983-2015)
Paul Keetch (1997-2010)
John Leech (2005-15)
Stephen Lloyd (2010-15)
Diana Maddock (1993-97)
Michael Meadowcroft (1983-87)
Greg Mulholland MP (2005-)
Mark Oaten (1997-2010)
Lembit Opik (1997-2010)
John Pugh MP (2001-)
Willie Rennie (2006-10)
Dan Rogerson (2005-15)
David Steel (1965-97)
Ian Swales (2010-15)
Jo Swinson (2005-15)
Matthew Taylor (1987-2010)
Sarah Teather (2003-15)
Steve Webb (1997-2015)
Mark Williams MP (2005-)
Richard Younger-Ross (2001-10)

Supporting Norman Lamb

Paddy Ashdown (1983-2001)
Norman Baker (1997-2015)
Tom Brake MP (1997-)
Paul Burstow (1997-2015)
Gordon Birtwistle (2010-15)
Ming Campbell (1987-2015)
Julia Church (Goldsworthy) (2005-10)
Ed Davey (1997-2015)
Lynne Featherstone (2005-15)
Don Foster (1992-2015)
Sandra Gidley (2000-10)
Stephen Gilbert (2010-15)
Matthew Green (2001-5)
Nick Harvey (1992-2015)
David Heath (1997-2015)
John Hemming (2005-15)
Julian Huppert (2010-15)
Susan Kramer (2005-10)
David Laws (2001-15)
Mike Moore (1997-2015)
Tessa Munt (2010-15)
Bob Russell (1997-2015)
Nicol Stephen (1991-92)
Mike Thornton (2013-15)
Paul Tyler (Feb 1974 – Oct 1974 and 1992-2005)
Shirley Williams (1981-83, and previously a Labour MP)
Stephen Williams (2005-15)
Jenny Willott (2005-15)
Simon Wright (2010-15)

Even if this list is 100% accurate at time of publishing, it’s going to get outdated as the campaign moves on. So I will be updating it – and if you spot any new endorsements by (ex)MPs, please do let me know.

UPDATE: And yes, more data coming in, so this post is being regularly updated.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

All comments and data you submit with them will be handled in line with the privacy and moderation policies.