Liberal Democrat Parliamentary candidates

Here’s the list of Prospective Parliamentary Candidates (PPCs) selected by the Liberal Democrats for the next general election.

There are some recent selections missing from the list as they haven’t yet been made public, but do let me know about any errors or omissions. Please do so privately, e.g. via email, in case it’s a case where there is a good reason for the selection not to be public yet. Thank you!

What is a Prospective Parliamentary Candidate (PPC)?

An introduction to the Liberal Democrats

Find out more about the party here more

But before going on to the full list, a little explanation of the terminology. Way back, the law around election expenses made it very advantageous to avoid officially declaring someone to be your candidate until a few weeks out from polling day. Doing so delayed the point at which campaigning costs had to count against the fixed constituency election expense limit. The later the limit started, the more campaigning you could get in beforehand and then the more campaigning per day you could do during the controlled period as the limit had to stretch over fewer days of campaigning.

As a result, all parties took to using the phrase “Prospective Parliamentary Candidate” or PPC to describe the people they had selected who were going to become their candidate but had been selected sufficiently far in advance that they didn’t want to be called candidates yet. There was then usually an official adoption meeting much closer to the election at which the PPC would be adopted from a field of one and transformed into an official candidate.

These days, there is much less benefit from going through these legal hoops. That’s partly because the variation in time period which your constituency expense limit has to cover depending on when you start calling yourself a candidate has been greatly reduced. It’s also because there is now so much that can be legally excluded from constituency expense limits.

The PPC phrase, however, hangs on both out of habit and because in some very close contests it can still bring some value. It also helps distinguish between someone who has been through the party’s approval process and so is eligibile to appy to be a PPC (often called ‘approved candidates’) and someone who is actually a PPC.

Liberal Democrat PPCs by constituency

Jump to the constituency you want:
A-D / E-H / I-L / M-P / Q-T / U-Z

Liberal Democrat PPCs A-D

Liberal Democrat PPCs E-H

Liberal Democrat PPCs I-L

  • Ilford North: Mark Johnson
  • Ilford South: Ashburn Holder
  • Inverclyde: Jacci Stoyle
  • Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and Strathspey (Danny Alexander’s former constituency): Denis Rixson
  • Ipswich: Adrian Hyyrylainen-Trett
  • Isle of Wight: Nick Stuart
  • Islington North: Nick Wakeling
  • Islington South and Finsbury: Kate Pothalingam
  • Islwyn: Jo Watkins
  • Keighley: Tom Franks
  • Kettering: Chris Nelson
  • Kenilworth and Southam: Richard Dickson
  • Kensington: Rabina Khan
  • Kingswood: Dine Romero
  • Lancaster and Fleetwood: Peter Jackson
  • Leeds North West (Greg Mulholland’s former constituency): Kamran Hussain
  • Leicester East: Nitesh Dave
  • Leicester West: Ian Bradwell
  • Lewes (Norman Baker’s former constituency): Oli Henman
  • Lewisham Deptford: Bobby Dean
  • Lewisham East: Chris Maines
  • Lewisham West and Penge: Alex Feakes
  • Lincoln: Caroline Kenyon
  • Linlithgow and East Falkirk: Sally Pattle
  • Liverpool Riverside: Robert McAllister-Bell
  • Liverpool Walton: David Newman
  • Liverpool Wavertree: Richard Kemp
  • Liverpool West Derby: Paul Parr
  • Livingston: Charles Dundas
  • Llanelli: Chris Passmore
  • Loughborough: Ian Sharpe
  • Ludlow (Matthew Green’s former constituency): Heather Kidd

Liberal Democrat PPCs M-P

Liberal Democrat PPCs Q-T

Liberal Democrat PPCs U-Z

All the above selections are subject to possible re-runs depending on the extent of Parliamentary boundary changes finally agreed.

Related candidate information

After a list of current Liberal Democrat MPs? That’s here.

Interested in becoming a candidate yourself? Take a look at this inside story.

Keep up with news about Lib Dem selections

If you’d like to be notified by email when further posts about Liberal Democrat selections appear on this blog, just sign up here. (Note: if you’re already signed up for a daily email alert with all my new blog posts, then there’s no need to sign up for these alerts too as the stories will also be in the full daily digest.)

    If you submit this form, your data will be used in line with the privacy policy here to update you on the topic(s) selected. This may including using this data to contact you via a variety of digital channels.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.


There are 43 comments Share your views

Share your views

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

All comments and data you submit with them will be handled in line with the privacy and moderation policies.